Tags

, , , , , , , ,

KenMM0046

“I loved working with Bella Flowers.  Cristina totally understood what I was looking for, and the execution was perfect!  I wanted organic looking arrangements – nothing forced or too stuffy, and that’s what showed up the day of the wedding!  The bridesmaid’s bouquets were beautiful, and the pops of green and purple worked really well.  My bouquet was AMAZING!  Cascading orchids in cream; I got compliments all night.” 🙂 – Megan

Nick and Megan were married last spring and celebrated their love with friends and family at the famous and well-recommended Glen Cove Mansion, just outside of Manhatten.  A beautiful bride needs a beautiful wedding bouquet to suit her.  Megan chose exquisite cream-colored cascading cymbidium orchids to carry down the aisle.  Be sure to read their sweet love story below. KenMM0738

KenMM0728

Cream -colored cascading Orchids made a beautiful bridal bouquet for Megan.

KenMM0617 KenMM0611 KenMM0123KenMM0321KenMM0468-2

KenMM0765

Branches of blooming golden Forsythia helped give their wedding flower centerpieces the organic feel Megan was striving for.

KenMM0380 KenMM0766KenMM0760 KenMM0861

– Photography by Melissa Miracolo, The Glenmar Studio

 

How did you meet?  We first met in high school (Farmingdale) through the Varsity Swim Team.  We were friendly, but ran in slightly different crowds.  About 8 years later I walked into The Bulldog Grille in Amityville and saw Nick.  My first thought was – I went to a bar outside of Farmingdale so I wouldn’t see anyone from high school! After a quick hello and a shot of Jameson, it wasn’t so bad to bump into this old high school friend.

Where did you go on your first date?  
Our first date was at a Starbucks in Massapequa.

Where did you propose?
 I always said that I wanted to be proposed to on a random Tuesday; so on a random Monday in February 2013, Nick worked with our former swim coach to get me to the Farmingdale High School swimming pool.  Under the guise that there were old pictures and funny items from our swimming days, Nick picked me up that afternoon to head to the pool.  When we arrived, the entire boys swim team was outside of the pool area; we went upstairs and after a few minutes of reminiscing (and me complaining how it was still hot and stinky!), Nick dropped to one knee and asked me to spend the rest of my life with him. 🙂

If there is one thing you know you’ll never forget about your wedding day, what would it be?
 How much fun we had!  I’m a pretty stressed out person, and everyone! was worried that I would get thrown by a little detail not being perfect.  There were definitely some things that went wrong, but all I remember is how great the day was.  The weather was beautiful, and we were surrounded by so much love from our family and friends.  We truly just spent the night dancing and enjoying each other and the start to our new journey as husband and wife.

Is there something you would do differently that you can share with other couples?  Roll with the punches.  Things WILL GO WRONG.  At our wedding, the bridal party started walking down the aisle to the wrong song; at the reception, the venue couldn’t get our favors/place card holders to stand, and none of our welcome bags were handed out until my MOM tracked down the hotel manager.  I had spent months planning all these details, but in the end, I was the only one who knew anything was slightly amiss, and I didn’t care in those moments, because I was so happy to be in the bigger moment – it was my wedding day!  So, to all the brides out there – you’ll plan, and plan, and plan.  And in the last weeks, you’ll add a million things (my last minute add was sprigs of lavender for each place setting with hand-tied bows) – and in the end, none of it will matter because all you’ll see is your new husband.  And that will be the best feeling in the world!

Where did you go for your honeymoon?  We went to El Dorado Seaside Suites in the Riveria Maya, Mexico.  It was perfect in every way – warm and sunny, good food and super relaxing.  It was exactly what we needed following months of wedding planning! (Awesome!)

How did you feel about your flowers and working with Bella Flowers?  I loved working with Bella Flowers.  Cristina totally understood what I was looking for, and the execution was perfect!  I wanted organic looking arrangements – nothing forced or too stuffy, and that’s what showed up the day of the wedding!  The bridesmaid’s bouquets were beautiful, and the pops of green and purple worked really well.  My bouquet was AMAZING!  Cascading orchids in cream; I got compliments all night. 🙂

Thank Nick and Megan for the great compliment and for sharing your wonderful love story with us.

When it comes to wedding flowers, Bella Flowers is all about creating your unique vision.  Let us help make your wedding day beautiful!